24 Hour Party Playwright – Bondi Feast

Eleanor Roosevelt once said that you should one thing a day that scares you. Well on Friday the 18th of July this year I did something that frightened the hell out of me. I participated in a 24 Hour Playwright Party as part of Rocksurfer’s Bondi Feast. The event involved writing a play in 12 hours that was then performed by a team of actors the next night.

It was petrifying, exhilarating and a great exercise in learning to just let go and not self edit.

The resulting play was Object, a play about an advertising creative being taught a lesson from a man acting as a table at a trendy party. It was wacky and strange and I had so much fun. A massive thanks for Rocksurfers for letting me participate!

I was sadly unable to see the play as I was in Adelaide helping out with Playwriting Australia’s National Play Festival.

See below for some snaps from the performance!

stef-0385

stef-0377

Leave a comment