Emerging Writers’ Festival

Screen Shot 2013-07-14 at 3.07.24 AM

On the cold morning of the 30th of May, I got myself on a plane and made my way to the Emerging Writers’ Festival. While I only had time to see three events, it was awesome. I attended ‘The Emerging Writer Book Launch’, ‘Late Night Live with Literary Magazine -Flash Fiction with Seizure’ and ‘The Pitch’, all of which were amazing. Next year, I will leave myself more time/ plan ahead more.

Highlights include:

-Seeing the amazing Khairani Barokka perform ‘Red’! Amazing performance! Such                         an incredible person.
-Seeing Ross Onley-Zerkel host ‘The Emerging Writer Book Launch’ with AUSLAN         interpreters translating. He was really engaging and a great host.
-Seeing Rebecca Slater (winner of the Monash University Undergraduate Prize for Creative Writing) read from her winning story ‘Stewed Fruit’ at Flash Fiction with Seizure.
-Hearing about all the no-nos of writing at ‘The Pitch’. Also, live tweeting for the first time. It is awkward and stressful – not a highlight
-Finding out about Seizure and that many of the people are from Sydney
-Going to ‘Naked for Satan’ to get $1 tapas. Blows my mind every time.

Wish I could have done a proper write up for all these events but I was letting myself be fully immersed in the Emerging Writers’ Festival and that’s important too. Great to meet so many cool people. Woo!

Leave a Reply

