Past Selves

I have just finished my first year of a Masters of Media and Production and I am very happy. It feels like so long ago that I handed in my thesis last year, only 1 year and 11 days ago. I feel like I’ve changed a lot since then. It feels like each year has come with different adventures, different creative goals, different people. I guess that’s the same for everyone. Sometimes this blog is a nice thing to come back to, to look over. I like to see how I use to talk about myself, what I was up to and what I was reading and watching.

I guess that’s the point of a blog sometimes isn’t it? Just a place to document who you’ve been and who you are becoming. Because it’s easy to forget past selves and forget your achievements or when you’ve struggled and just feel like you are who are today and that’s all that matters. But who you were matters, even if it’s just for reference for how far you’ve come or how much of a better person you are today.

As Joan Didion most eloquently put it in her essay ‘On Keeping a Notebook’:

I think we are well advised to keep on nodding terms with the people we use to be, whether we find them attractive company or not. Otherwise they turn up unannounced and surprise us, come hammering on the mind’s door at 4 a.m. of a bad night and demand to know who deserted them, who betrayed them, who is going to make amends. We forget all too soon the things we thought we could never forget.

And so ends my deepest blog post yet, probably.

One thought on “Past Selves

Leave a Reply

